Amy Campbell Library > Thriller

The Mary Celeste

By Brian Freemantle, John Maxwell

Unique ebook: 1999

Brian Freemantle resolves one of many maximum maritime mysteries of all time
What occurred to the Mary Celeste? A service provider vessel crusing out of recent York with an Italy-bound cargo of industrial alcohol, the brigantine started her fateful trip in November 1872. One month later she was once sighted on an obvious go back direction, her sails set yet torn, her deck deserted. The send used to be in good shape, along with her shipment intact. there has been no signal of an assault, however the workforce had vanished. What used to be to stick to spawned the main recognized maritime ghost tale of all time: confident of homicide and secret, the British court docket investigator suppressed proof to reinforce his case. Rumors abounded of sea monster assault, Barbary Coast piracy, and the workforce having been sucked from the vessel because it sailed over the positioning of the fabled Atlantis. Regardless, the secret remained unsolved. beforehand. during this exciting retelling, Brian Freemantle depicts for the 1st time how the reality used to be became myth and legend, principally throughout the mind's eye of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, author of Sherlock Holmes.  This publication beneficial properties an illustrated biography of Brian Freemantle together with infrequent photographs from the author’s own assortment.

Show description

Read more The Mary Celeste

Red Dragon

By Thomas Harris

A moment relations has been massacred through the terrifying serial killer the click has christened ?The teeth Fairy.? precise Agent Jack Crawford turns to the only guy who might help restart a failed investigation?Will Graham. Graham is the best profiler the FBI ever had, however the actual and psychological scars of shooting Hannibal Lecter have brought on Graham to enter early retirement. Now, Graham needs to flip to Lecter for support.

Show description

Read more Red Dragon

The Devil You Know: A Novel

“Gripping!” —Margaret Atwood through Twitter (@MargaretAtwood)

In the vein of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison’s The Silent Wife, The satan You Know is an exciting debut a few rookie reporter, whose stories of the homicide of her adolescence ally convey danger—and a stalker—right to her doorstep.

The yr is 1993. Rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted through the unsolved homicide of her ally Lianne Gagnon who was once killed in 1982, again while either ladies have been 11. The suspected killer, a repeat criminal named Robert Cameron, used to be by no means arrested, leaving Lianne’s case cold.

Now twenty-one and dwelling by myself for the 1st time, Evie is obsessively attracted to checking out what quite occurred to Lianne. She leans on one other formative years buddy, David Patton, for help—but each clue they discover turns out to guide to an incredible end. As she will get nearer and toward the reality, Evie turns into confident that the killer continues to be at large—and that he’s coming again for her.

From severely acclaimed writer Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes an “exceptional book…full of surprises” (Suspense Magazine) approximately secrets and techniques lengthy buried and obsession that can not be managed.

Show description

Read more The Devil You Know: A Novel

Natchez Burning: A Novel (Penn Cage)

By Greg Iles

From number 1 New York Times bestselling writer Greg Iles comes the 1st novel in his Natchez Burning trilogy—which additionally contains The Bone Tree and the impending Mississippi Blood—an epic trilogy that interweaves crimes, lies, and secrets and techniques previous and found in a captivating mystery that includes Southern attorney and previous prosecutor Penn Cage.

Raised within the southern elegance of Natchez, Mississippi, Penn Cage realized all he is familiar with of accountability from his father, Dr. Tom Cage. yet now the liked kinfolk health care professional has been accused of murdering the African American nurse with whom he labored at the hours of darkness days of the Nineteen Sixties. as soon as a crusading prosecutor, Penn is decided to save lots of his father, yet Tom, stubbornly invoking doctor-patient privilege, refuses even to talk in his personal defense.

Penn's quest for the reality sends him deep into his father's earlier, the place a sexually charged mystery lies. extra chilling, this long-buried sin is just one thread in a conspiracy of greed and homicide regarding the vicious Double Eagles, an offshoot of the KKK managed by means of one of the most strong males within the nation. Aided by means of a devoted reporter aware of Natchez's oldest secrets and techniques and by way of his fiancée, Caitlin Masters, Penn uncovers a path of corruption and brutality that locations his relatives squarely within the Double Eagles' crosshairs.

With each step costing blood and religion, Penn is compelled to confront the main wrenching drawback of his lifestyles: Does a guy of honor pick out his father or the truth?

Show description

Read more Natchez Burning: A Novel (Penn Cage)

Geek Mafia: Black Hat Blues (PM Fiction)

By Rick Dakan

A gripping tale of con artists and activists, this tale follows a workforce of elite hackers, new recruits, anarchists, and impersonators as they try and take down their such a lot tough goal to date—the U.S. division of place of birth safety. accrued less than the canopy of HackerCon in Washington DC—a position for safety specialists, penetration testers, and know-how geeks to satisfy and speak about the most recent hacks and exploits—this team of renegades plot their assault at the federal executive for its objectionable safeguard practices. concept frightening and pleasing, this fast moving event relies on years of analysis within the hacker group, addresses many modern social concerns, and offers an summary of ways hacking relatively works.

Show description

Read more Geek Mafia: Black Hat Blues (PM Fiction)

Broken Grace

By E.C. Diskin

On an icy winter’s day in southwest Michigan, Grace Abbott wakes up because the survivor of a motor vehicle crash. yet she’s left with a annoying mind damage and a terrifying truth: she can’t consider anything.

Left within the care of her sister, Grace returns to the family’s secluded outdated farmhouse to recover—but inside an hour of her go back, the police arrive. Grace’s boyfriend has been murdered. with none reminiscence, Grace has no alibi.

With suspicion weighing seriously on her and flashes of reminiscence returning, Grace searches for clues to her previous. yet with each glimpse, her nervousness grows. there's something concerning the residence, her kin, her childhood…perhaps the twist of fate isn’t the single cause she can’t take into account. Are the darkish recesses of her brain hiding whatever much more sinister and terrifying than she may well ever imagine?

Is an individual prepared to kill back to conceal the truth?

Show description

Read more Broken Grace

Prodigy (Legend)

By Marie Lu

The moment ebook in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for enthusiasts of THE starvation video games and DIVERGENT!

June and Day arrive in Vegas simply because the unthinkable occurs: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his position. With the Republic edging in the direction of chaos, the 2 subscribe to a gaggle of Patriot rebels wanting to support Day rescue his brother and provide passage to the Colonies. they've got just one request—June and Day needs to assassinate the hot Elector.

It’s their likelihood to alter the kingdom, to provide voice to a humans silenced for too long. 

But as June realizes this Elector is not anything like his father, she’s haunted by means of the alternative forward. What if Anden is a brand new starting? What if revolution needs to be greater than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller Legend, Lu gives you a panoramic mystery with excessive stakes and cinematic action. 

 

"Masterful." —The la Times

"Lu's action-packed sequence is the genuine deal." Entertainment Weekly 

Show description

Read more Prodigy (Legend)

Het meisje in de trein

By Paula Hawkins

Rachel neemt elke ochtend dezelfde trein. Elke dag hobbelt ze over het spoor, langs een rij charmante huizen in een buitenwijk van Londen, en stopt daar altijd voor hetzelfde rode sein. Zo kijkt ze elke ochtend naar een stel dat op hun terras ontbijt. Ze heeft inmiddels het gevoel dat ze rooster persoonlijk kent en noemt rooster ‘Jess en Jason’. Hun leven – in Rachels ogen – is ideal. Een beetje zoals haar eigen leven dat ooit was.

Op een dag ziet ze iets vreemds in hun tuin. De trein rijdt gewoon weer door, maar voor Rachel verandert alles. Niet in staat om het voor zichzelf te houden, stapt ze naar de politie met haar verhaal, wanneer blijkt dat 'Jess' vermist wordt. Hiermee raakt ze niet alleen verwikkeld in de gebeurtenissen die volgen, maar ook in de levens van iedereen die erbij betrokken is. Maar wie is er te vertrouwen? Heeft ze meer kwaad dan goed gedaan door zich met deze zaak te bemoeien?

'Wat een personages, wat een surroundings, wat een boek! Het is Alfred Hitchcock voor een nieuwe generatie.' - Terry Hayes, auteur van Ik ben Pelgrim

Show description

Read more Het meisje in de trein

Fever

By Robin Cook

Charles Martel is a superb melanoma researcher who discovers that his personal daughter is the sufferer of leukemia. The reason: a chemical plant conspiracy that not just supplies to kill her, yet will spoil him as a physician and a guy if he attempts to struggle it...

Show description

Read more Fever